Origins of the tune “Twinkle twinkle little star”

Got to know that “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” is originally composed by Mozart. The lyrics that he chose were from a different song called “Ah Vous Dirais-Je, Maman”. It reads as following:

Ah vous dirais-je, maman
Ce qui cause mon tourment
Papa veut que je demande
De la soupe et de la viande
Moi, je dis que les bonbons
Valent mieux que les mignons
Ah vous dirais-je, maman
Ce qui cause mon tourment
Papa veut que je raisonne
Comme une grande personne
Moi, je dis que les bonbons
Valent mieux que la raison.

And it’s English translation is like this:
Ah let me tell you mommy
Whats the cause of my torment
Papa wants me to ask for Soup and meat
But I say that candy is better than all of that!
Ah let me tell you mommy
Whats the cause of my torment
Papa wants me to think like a grown up
But I say that candy Is better than reason(wisdom).

Credits: Bruce Balentine

Leave a Reply

